57 Problems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 57 Problems

Like many on other sites, I was waiting with great excitement for my Black 5742. I am new to n gauge modelling (and model railways) and to date had only a Farish Castle running on my layout. Living on the Shropshire/Welsh Marches near Oswestry, I am trying to stick to GWR with a local connection, so the 5742, being based in Croes Newydd, Wrexham, seemed perfect.
    Out of the box, it is beautiful to look at and the fine detailing for such small scale is remarkable, but once on the track, I am so disappointed. Any hint of a curve and it jumps off the track and it will not cross a set of points, without falling off them. My Castle has no issues with my track layout, under load or running by itself. Actual operation on a straight, is OK, but again disappointing. Turn the dial and it shoots off like a scolded cat and run the dial back down and it stops dead. Again, my Castle slowly builds up steam and gently pulls away and then when you turn the dial down, it very gently comes to a halt. This means it is challenging at bring it to a dead stop on a platform, but isn't that part of the fun, learning how to manage the engine, rather than instant speed and instant breaking? I could live with this operation, though, if I could only get it around bends and across a set of points.

Is anyone else having this problem?

I haven’t had any problems with my 57 apart from it being rather noisy.

A few things to consider: what radius are the curves? If they are first radius 9” ones then they are probably too tight.
    Is the controller of recent manufacture and suitable for N gauge? Some of the older types are not suited to N gauge motors.
    I have found that new locos need to be run in as per the instructions. As yours is jumping on curves and points it might be worth making up a test oval with no points and generous curves for running in new locos.